Yes, your child can be questioned by police or school officials. However, your child does not have to answer any questions and has the right to remain silent and ask for an attorney at any time.
Like an adult, a juvenile has rights under the United States and Texas Constitutions. Juvenile law is a combination of the Texas Family Code and Criminal Code. Your child has the right to remain silent, does not have to answer questions from the police or school officials and can ask for an attorney at any time.
No, you cannot bond him out. Juveniles do not have access to bonds. However, he has a right to a detention hearing within 48 hours to determine if he can be released. If he is not released, another detention hearing will be held every 10 business days.
You must petition the court to seal the record, but you need to make sure that your child is eligible. There are several factors that must be taken into consideration, such as, type of offense, age and last contact with probation department. Your child may qualify to have an automatic sealing of records.
More than likely your child was entered into the juvenile system upon meeting with the intake officer therefore, your child has a juvenile record. Once a child is entered into the juvenile system, a record will exist unless it is sealed.
No, Juvenile records are only automatically sealed if they are eligible.